hold me one more time to ease the pain

i think i’ve blogged about this before and i don’t mind blogging about it again because i love this song so much; because i listen to it every week.

eric clapton’s “river of tears” ranks up high in my favourite list and it is also one of the songs i want to play once i figured out how to play the guitar. (kenneth!!!! when is my guitar lesson happening! i want to be able to play and jam with a bunch of friends like this!)

back when i was nothing much but a severe melancholic, i’d stay motionless in bed, at my table, on the bus, on the train, at a corner drowning myself in the intensity of the song. i still find myself doing that once in a while just to soak in the lush strings and the deep pained voice.

i used to tell james he looks like eric clapton – he has the same kind of intense, brooding look. doesn’t help that they both wear glasses and has the same haircut and is tall with slender fingers.

john mayer has nice long fingers. eric clapton has nice long fingers. is it a guitarist thing?

enjoy.

Its four miles to my lonely room
Where I will hide my face,
And about half a mile to the downtown bar
That I ran from in disgrace.

Lord, how long have I got to keep on running,
Seven hours, seven days or seven years?
All I know is, since youve been gone
I feel like Im drowning in a river,
Drowning in a river of tears.
Drowning in a river.
Feel like Im drowning,
Drowning in a river.

In three more days, Ill leave this town
And disappear without a trace.
A year from now, maybe settle down
Where no one knows my face.

I wish that I could hold you
One more time to ease the pain,
But my times run out and I got to go,
Got to run away again.

Still I catch myself thinking,
One day Ill find my way back here.
Youll save me from drowning,
Drowning in a river,
Drowning in a river of tears.
Drowning in a river.
Feels like Im drowning,
Drowning in the river.
Lord, how long must this go on?

Drowning in a river,
Drowning in a river of tears.

Leave a Reply

